NuclearFamily
the blasts, the fallout, the sickness and the diar[y]hoea

I Have A Question For You

Have you seen the teacher training advert? The one where the kids all ask questions. Most of them are annoying, like, “whats the difference between fluff and dust?” but there is one that’s pretty good, “if the Universe is expanding, what is it expanding into?” I like that question. It is a valid question. If the Universe is the total of everything and is infinite yet expands, effectively creating more Universe as it goes just where does it find the space? And how does something that is infinite get bigger anyway? By definition it’s already as big as it can be isn’t it? It messes with your head a little that question.

It also reminds me of some other puzzling things that have remained with me for years since I first heard them when I was much younger than now.

Why, when you send something by road, is it called a shipment and by sea a cargo?

Should the Bible be filed as fiction or non-fiction in a library?

Why does, “It’s all downhill from here” mean something has got easier when, “then it all went downhill from there” means something bad?

Another question would be “what’s the point of this post?” Well, I’m not sure there is one, it just occurred to me and I’m bored (again) and if I can’t write pointless rubbish what good is a blog? Anyway, are there any daft questions you have?

4 Responses to “I Have A Question For You”

  1. ooh the downhill one is freaky… I never thought of that but you’re so right!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Did Adam and Eve have bellybuttons? Inquiring minds and all… πŸ˜‰

  3. The Bible’s filed under reference. Or erotica, depending on your particular bent.

  4. Erotica? Hmmm, I must admit I had never thought that? Why?


Leave a Reply

