NuclearFamily
the blasts, the fallout, the sickness and the diar[y]hoea

Double Talk

I was walking the streets today, in a non-professional way, and saw this sign in the window of a hardware shop:

“Watch Repairs and Key Cutting”

An innocent sign to be sure but as I read it my first thought was, though it’s probably not as boring as watching paint dry watching repairs is not something I am likely to enjoy. Now I know that’s not what it meant but that’s what I read. I love the English language.

It made me laugh to think of people paying their entrance fee and queueing for pop corn and flat coke before filing into a room out the back to watch repairs. Stupid I know but it amused me.

From then on I kept an eye out for other funny signs and saw this one in a department store:

“Toilet is broken, please use floor below”

Did whoever wrote this not realise what it also said? Still, it amused me. ๐Ÿ™‚

I just love this double talk English has.

4 Responses to “Double Talk”

  1. I’d read those kind of signs and miss the double meaning, duh!

  2. lol, thanks for the poetry vote

  3. I know someone who loves things just like this!! You’d get on well!! ๐Ÿ˜†

  4. Ooooooooooh
    I love being a pedant about stuff like this

    such fun

    xc


Leave a Reply

